In God's Glory

A Door Of Opportunity

Posted on: 27 September, 2008

It seems clear that this generation stands at the door of tremendous opportunity to encounter God and change our present age. It is imperative that we allow His Spirit to groom and prepare us for our responsibilities. Judgment has begun in God’s house, primarily because it is His desire to grant close encounters with Him and give us “meat in due season”

This is the “Jubilee” year, and as I was in prayer, I found myself saying, “Lord, all the foolish things I have done in my past are enough for one lifetime…please let the remaining days of my life be spent in your perfect will.”

When I prayed that heartfelt petition, I did not consciously know that I was reciting a Scripture. A day or so later, I opened my Bible to read before bed, and was surprised when it fell open to 1 Peter 4:2-3 saying,”…so as to live the rest of the time in the flesh no longer for the lusts of men, but for the will of God. For the time already past is sufficient for you to have carried out the desire of the Gentiles, having pursued a course of sensuality, lusts, drunkenness, carousals, drinking parties and abominable idolatries.”

I am sure at some point I had read this passage, but it was not at the forefront of my mind when I prayed for a line of demarcation in my life. I knew the Lord was giving the Scripture as a promise for those who genuinely assert that appeal from their hearts.

Leave a Reply

